Mumbai captain Harbhajan wins toss, decides to bat

April 20th, 2008 - 10:04 pm ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh

Mumbai, April 20 (IANS) Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh won the toss and decided to bat against Bangalore Royal Challengers at the Wankhede Stadium here Sunday night. Captain Sachin Tendulkar failed to get fit for the Mumbai Indians’ first match, paving the way for Harbhajan to lead the side. Bangalore made three changes in the XI that lost the tournament opener to Kolkata Knight Riders at home Friday. Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ross Taylor and R. Vinay Kumar replaced Wasim Jaffer, Cameron White and Ashley Noffke.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Luke Ronchi (wicket-keeper), D.J. Thornely, Robin Uthappa, Shaun Pollock, A.M. Nayar, P. Shah, M.A. Khote, Ashish Nehra and D.S. Kulkarni

Bangalore Royal Challengers: Rahul Dravid (captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ross Taylor, Jacques Kallis, Virat Kohli, Mark Boucher (wicket-keeper), B. Akhil, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Sunil Joshi and R. Vinay Kumar

Umpires: S.J. Davis (Australia) and Daryl Harper (Australia)
TV umpire: A.V. Jayaprakash (India)
Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India)
Reserve umpire: S.N. Bandekar (India)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |