Motorsports: Gill, Urs top for MRF

August 21st, 2011 - 9:05 pm ICT by IANS  

Bangalore, Aug 21 (IANS) Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sherif) and Lohitt Urs (Srinivasa Murthy) expectedly completed a 1-2 finish for Team MRF in the 37th Karnataka-1000, the fourth round of the Speed Indian National Rally Championship here on Sunday.

Overnight rains made the terrain slushy and the organisers were forced to cancel the last Special Stage due to safety reasons, but it was the 29-year-old Delhi-based Gill who showcased his car control to safely negotiate the treacherous conditions that led to retirement of 22 of the 41 starters.

In fact, only two — Gill and Urs — finished in the 2000cc (N+) as also in the Group N 2000cc class where Rahul Kanthraj (Vivek Bhatt) finally clinched their first win of the season after having come close to clinching the title in the previous rounds, sparing over two minutes to Shreeharsh SD (Uday Kumar D).

Overnight leaders in the 1600cc class, Balaram CG (Raghuram CG) won in their class while 18-year old Mangalorean Dean Mascarenhas (Shruptha Padival) topped in the Star Cup (1400cc).

The uncrowned king in the Gypsy Cup, Sanjay Agarwal (Shivaparakash E), wiped out his overnight deficit to take the honours and cement his position at the top of the leaderboard.

The results (provisional):

Overall: Gaurav Gill/Musa Sherif (Team MRF) 1 (01hr, 14mins, 48.0secs); Lohitt Urs/Srinivasa Murthy (Team MRF) 2 (01:16:07.0); Rahul Kanthraj/Vivek Bhatt (Pvt) 3 (01:23:30.0).

2000cc (Group N): Rahul Kahtraj/Vivek Bhatt (Pvt) 1 (01:23:30.0); Sreeharsh SD/Uday Kumar D (Pvt) 2 (01:25:20.0).

1600cc: Balram CG/Raghuram CG (Pvt) 1 (01:27:04.0); Hanoosh Suraneni/Kumar Ravindra (Pvt) 2 (01:30:30.0); Siddharth Ranganekar/Nitin Jacob (Pvt) 3 (01:31:44.0).

1400cc (Star Cup): Dean Mascarenhas/Shruptha Padival (Pvt) 1 (01:25:16.0); Karan AM/Shanmuga SN (Kari Motorsports) 2 (01:27:07.0); Pramod Raman/Harish KN 3 (01:28:47.0).

Gypsy Cup (T1, modified): Sandeep Sharma/Venu Ramesh Kumar (Pvt) 1 (01:28:35.0). Stock (T2): Sanjay Agarwal/Shivaprakash E (Pvt) 1 (01:28:28.0); Shafeeq Ur Rahman/Ajith KP (Pvt) 2 (01:29.44.0); Alok Mishra/Rohit Arya (Pvt) 3 (01:43:46.0).

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |