London Marathon Results 2010

April 25th, 2010 - 9:29 pm ICT by GD  

By Meena Kar
raceLondon, United Kingdom, Apr 25, (THAINDIAN NEWS) Victory for Russia’s Liliya Shobukhova in the London Marathon 2010 Women’s race came after an exhausting run of two hours twenty-one minutes and 59 seconds. While Liliya Shobukhova won the London Marathon Women’s race, the winner of the Men’s Marathon was Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. The first runner-ups in the women’s and men’s marathon were Russian Inga Abitova and Kenya’s Emmanuel Mutai respectively. The third place in the women’s race was secured by Ethiopian Aselefech Mergia.

The London Marathon which is considered as one of the biggest marathon event, this year as well saw a huge participation from runners all over the world. However, the event has come up with some disappointing and exciting surprises. Britain’s Mara Yamauchi who was thought to be one of the toughest contenders this year faded out during the run. She could not keep up the pace as Liliya Shobukhova increased the pace over the Tower Bridge. Mara Yamauchi told the media after the race that though she had started early with a good speed she could not manage to keep up the pace later on. She added that perhaps she was not very well prepared and would like to return to the London Marathon next year.

The London Marathon’s Wheelchair women’s race win went to Japan’s Wakako Tsuchida. The defending champion Amanda McGrory finished third while Swiss Sandra Graf held the second position. In the Men’s Wheelchair event Canada’s Josh Cassidy and Switzerland’s Marcel Hug managed to leave a mark while Dave Weir suffered a flat Tyre. Dave Weir was considered as one of the prospective winners this year.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |