James Franklin left out of New Zealand Cricket contract

July 1st, 2011 - 7:01 pm ICT by IANS  

Ross Taylor Wellington, July 1 (IANS) All-rounder James Franklin has been left out of New Zealand’s list of contracted players for the next year.

Franklin after his return to the One-day side in December has topped New Zealand’s ODI batting averages with 325 runs at 54.16. He had a disappointing World Cup and was omitted from the 20-man list.

“Contracts are offered to the 20 players considered to have the greatest value to the Blackcaps over the coming 12 months based on previous form and their likelihood to be selected.

“A set criteria is used to rank players across all three forms of the game with Test cricket receiving twice the weighting of ODIs and Twenty20 internationals. The players with the highest aggregate score are then offered New Zealand Cricket contracts,” NZC said in a statement.

National selection manager Mark Greatbatch said the number of new players forcing their way into the top-20 was a feature of the list.

“Seven changes to the contracted list highlights the fact that there are a number of quality cricketers contesting for the top twenty contracts. That kind of competitiveness is good for our cricket,” said Greatbatch.

Also omitted from the list are Test fast bowler Brent Arnel, all-rounder Grant Elliott, wicket-keeper Gareth Hopkins, Test opener Tim McIntosh, offspinner Jeetan Patel, fast bowler Daryl Tuffey, and retired batsman Scott Styris.

Wicket-keeper Reece Young, all-rounders Rob Nicol and Luke Woodcock, and fast bowler Trent Boult have been handed a contracts.

There was also a return for batsmen Daniel Flynn and Neil Broom, who missed out last year having previously been on the list.

Under new captain Ross Taylor, New Zealand head to Zimbabwe later this year for a Test series, before playing two Tests in Australia. They then head home to host Zimbabwe and South Africa, before a trip to the Caribbean next year.

The list of New Zealand contracted players: Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Andy McKay, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock, Reece Young.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |