IOA reconstitutes Ethics Committee

January 4th, 2012 - 5:53 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Jan 4 (IANS) The Indian Olympics Association (IOA) Wednesday reconstituted its Ethics Committee and Court of Arbitration by inducting five new members.

Supreme court Judge (retd) Arun Kumar and High Court Judge (retd) S.K. Mahajan are the two new members of the Ethics committee, while Supreme court Judge (retd) H.S.Bedi, and High Court Judges (retd) S.K Agrawal and Manju Goel are the new members in the Court of Arbitration. All disputes relating to the sports federations affiliated to the IOA will henceforth be decided by the Indian Court of Arbitration for Sports (ICAS).

Other members of the Ethics Committee and the Arbitration Commission, which was disbanded at the Annual General Meeting of the IOA held Dec 15, have been retained. The Ethics Committee will now have five members and the Court of Arbitration 11.

IOA Acting President Vijay Kumar Malhotra said the bodies were reconstituted as per the decision taken at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and regretted that a misleading campaign was launched after the bodies were disbanded.

“We have nothing to hide and we are true to our promise and pledge to have transparent IOA. The reconstitution of these committees with a full approval of the General House of the IOA is a befitting reply to those who want to encroach the autonomy of the sports federation,” Malhotra said.

“IOA fully adheres to the Olympic Charter and follows the guidelines of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and at no stage we ignored IOC’s views or suggestions regarding Ethics Committee as has been made out to be by certain vested interests who want to destablise the IOA,” he said.

Malhotra said the rules and regulations of the Ethics Committee and ICAS will be framed shortly.

Following is the full constituted Ethics Committee: Justice (retd) Umesh Banerjee, Justice (retd) Arun Kumar, Justice (retd) RL Khurana, Justice (retd) MSA Siddiqui, Justice (retd) SK Mahajan.

Indian Court of Arbitration for Sports (ICAS): AR Lakshmanan, Justice (retd) HS Bedi, Justice (retd) MR Culla, Justice (retd) RS Sodhi, Justice (retd) BA Khan, Justice (retd) Usha Mehra, Justice (retd) JK Mehra, Justice (retd) Lokeshwar Prasad, Justice (retd) SN Sapra, Justice (retd) S.K. Agarwal, Justice (retd) Manju Goel.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |