Indians dominate overall but Lankans hold sway in sprints

March 8th, 2008 - 10:35 pm ICT by admin  


Kochi, March 8 (IANS) Indian athletes dominated the 3rd South Asian Athletics Championship even as the Sri Lankans made their presence felt in the shorter events at the Maharaja College Grounds on Saturday. As India grabbed nine more gold medals in addition to the 12 they won on the first day, Sri Lanka added four more, all from sprint events and relays, to the three they won on the first day. Pakistan managed just one more gold on the second day.

From India’s point, Seema Antil completed a throwing double winning the women’s shot put in addition to the discus throw she won on the first day. Her effort in the discus was a new meet record at 57.94m, with teammate Harwant Kaur second with 57.21.

Sri Lanka’s D.D. Priyadarshini emerged as the most decorated athlete with three gold medals, as she added the 200m title to the 100m she won on the first day and then was also part the team that won the 4 x 100m relay.

Priyadarshini won the 200m in 24.04 second, while S.M. Veerasooriya won the men’s 200m as the Lankans dominated the sprints. The Lankans, in fact had top two places in both 200m finals. On the first day they had finished first and second in the men’s 400m and they also added the men’s 4 x 400m relay gold.

India’s Rajeev Rameshan had a good winning run in men’s 800m clocking a creditable 1:48.43s, a new meet record, beating teammate Sajeesh Joseph (1:49.14s).

P. Shankar emerged triumphant in men’s 400m hurdles in 50.72s with Kuldev Singh second in 51.05s.

Sahana Kumari was the high jump winner with a best of 1.85m and V. Leelavaty grabbed the 400m hurdles in 59.35s, which despite the poor time was still a meet record.

Maha Singh won the men’s long jump with a best of 7.55m while the men’s discus was won by Sukhbir Singh (52.32m).

Pakistan who won the men’s hammer throw on the first day also claimed the men’s javelin with Muhammad Imran achieving a distance of 72.91m, while India’s Kashi Nath Naik was second with 72.73m.

The Indian women won the 4×400m relay beating Sri Lanka in a close contest. India clocked 3:37.04s while Sri Lanka timed 3:37.35s. The Pakistan team was way behind to finish on third place in 3:55.88s.

The other relay title that India won was in men’s 4 x 100m, while Sri Lanka won the remaining two relays - the women’s 4 x 100m and the men’s 4 x 400.

Results of the finals on the second day:

200 mt
1 S M Veerasooriya (Sri Lanka) 21.44 Sec
2 Ashan Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) 21.84 Sec
3 Md Imran (Pakistan) 21.91 Sec

4×100m Relay
1 India (B.G. Nagraj, Jamalludin, Ritesh Anand, Krishan Kumar Rane) 40.86 Sec
2 Pakistan (Muhammad Imran, Afzal Balg, Liaqat Ali, Zafar Iqbal) 41.11 Sec
3 Sri Lanka (Shehan Ambepitiya, R. Surendra, Ashan Hasaranga, W. Fernando) 41.13 Sec

800 M
1 Rameshan Rajeev (India) 1:48.43 Sec
2 Sajeesh Joseph (India) 1:49.14 Sec
3 Suresh Abeynayake (Sri Lanka) 1:49.58 Sec

Long Jump
1 Maha Singh (India)7.55m
2 Pushpender Singh (India) 7.52m
3 Muhammad Riaz (Pakistan) 7.31m

Discus Throw
1 Sukhbir Singh (India) 52.23m
2 Basharat Ali (Pakistan) 51.34m
3 Simranjit Singh (India) 49.61m

400 Hurdles
1 Shankar (India)50.72 Sec
2 Kuldev Singh (India) 51.05 Sec
3 H.P.Y. Ajith (Sri Lanka) 51.49 Sec

4×400m Relay
1 Sri Lanka (P. Amrasekara, R. Kumara, Asoka Jayasundra, T. Priyashantha) 3:08.93 Sec
2 India (V. Pankaj, P. Shankar, V.B. Bineesh, Vinay Chaudhary) 3:10.44 Sec
3 Pakistan (Haq Nawaz, Md Ehsan, Md Javed, Bilal Ali) 3:24.54 Sec

Javelin Throw
1 Muhammad Imran (Pakistan) 72.91m
2 Kashi Nath Naik (India) 72.73m
3 Muhammad Arfan Hussain (Pakistan) 68.71m

200 mt
1 D.D.P. Priyadarshani(Sri Lanka) 24.04 Sec
2 L.S. Irangani (Sri Lanka) 24.25 Sec
3 Sushmita Singha Roy (India) 24.40 Sec

High Jump
1 Sahana Kumari (India) 1.85m
2 R.A.K.P. Madumanthi (Sri Lanka)1.85m
3 Janitha Kodikara (Sri Lanka)1.77m

400 Hurdles
1 V. Leelavathy (India) 59.35 Sec
2 Harpreet Kaur (India) 1:01.11 Sec
3 P.S.M. De Soysa (Sri Lanka) 1:01.51 Sec

Shot Put
1 Seema Antil (India) 14.34m
2 M.N.D. Muthunayake (Sri Lanka) 13.66m
3 Saroj Sihag (India) 13.40m

4×100m Relay
1 Sri Lanka (H.J.C.C. Desilva, D. Priyadarshani, B. PathmakumariK. Priyadarshani) 45.95 Sec
2 India (H.M. Jyoti, K. Sowjanya, Mandeep Kaur, P.K. Priya) 46.67 Sec
3 Pakistan (Nadia Nazir, Noshee Parveen, Sadaf Siddiqui, Javeria Hassan) 47.44 Sec

4×400m Relay
1 India-A (Chitra K. Soman, Mandeep Kaur, S. Geetha, Manjeet Kaur) 3:37.04 Sec
2 Sri Lanka (L.S. Irangani, W. Deepika, Chandrika Subashina, P. Soysa) 3:37.35 Sec
3 Pakistan (Rozina Shafqat, Sumaira Zahoor, Nadia Nazir, Bushra Parveen) 3:55.88 sec

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |