Indian Premier League statistics

May 25th, 2009 - 6:47 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, May 25 (IANS) Statistics of the Indian Premier League (IPL) that concluded in Johannesburg Sunday.
16,320 runs were scored in the tournament. The first edition had seen 17,937 runs being scored, according to IPL’s official website.

1,317 fours were hit. The last edition had 1,702 fours.

506 sixes were hit in the tournament. In 2008, 622 sixes had been hit.

Deccan Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist topped the six-hitting list with 29.

697 wickets fell in the tournament compared to last year’s 689.

Chennai Super Kings’ Matthew Hayden was the top scorer with 572 runs at an average of 52.00 in 12 matches. 29.68 percent of runs scored by Chennai Super Kings came from Hayden’s bat - the highest contribution by any batsman in his teams’ runs.

Adam Gilchrist was the second in the scoring list with 495 runs at an average of 30.9 in 16 matches.

93 ducks were recorded in the tournament. Herschelle Gibbs topped the tally with four ducks.

There were two centuries in the tournament - AB de Villiers (Delhi Daredevils) and Manish Pandey (Royal Challengers Bangalore). The first edition saw six centuries.

Pandey became the first Indian to score a century in IPL when he hit 114 against Deccan Chargers in the last league match.

42 golden ducks were recorded in the tournament, Jacques Kallis (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Rajat Bhatia (Delhi Daredevils) and Sanath Jayasuriya (Mumbai Indians) did so twice each.

R.P. Singh took the most number of wickets (23) in the tournament. It was also the most wickets by any bowler in a single IPL tournament. Before this IPL, he was tied with Sohail Tanvir who had taken 22 wickets in the 2008 edition.

20 maiden overs were bowled in the tournament. Lasith Malinga was the only bowler to bowl two maiden overs.

14 sixes were hit off the bowling of Praveen Kumar and Shane Warne - the most conceded by a bowler in the tournament.

Nine out of Lasith Malinga’s 18 victims were bowled.

Adam Gilchrist effected eight stumping dismissals - the most by any keeper. Gilchrist’s tally of 18 dismissals is also the highest by a keeper in the tournament.

Lasith Malinga and Dirk Nannes shared the record of inflicting most ducks in the tournament with six each.

There were three hat-tricks in the tournament, Yuvraj Singh (twice) and Rohit Sharma were the bowlers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |