Indian hockey squad named for Punjab Gold Cup

January 29th, 2009 - 10:53 pm ICT by IANS  

Chandigarh, Jan 29 (IANS) Selectors Thursday announced an 18-member Indian hockey team for the inaugural four-nation Punjab Gold Cup tournament to be played here from Saturday.The team, led by drag-flicker Sandeep Singh, will include Arjun Halappa and Ignace Tirkey. Midfielder Sardar Singh, who was also on the injury list with both these players, has not been included due to a hand injury.

The team was announced at the Sector 42 hockey stadium by selection committee chairman Ajit Pal Singh. Other selectors, Zafar Iqbal, Ashok Kumar and Dhanraj Pillay and coach in-charge Harendra Singh, were also present.

Besides India, Olympics champion Germany, European champion Holland and New Zealand are also participating in the tournament. The 10-day event is organised by the Punjab government.

All teams have arrived here for the tournament.

The team:

Goalkeepers: Baljit Singh, Adrian D’Souza.

Fullbacks: Dalip Tirky, Sandeep Singh, Raghu Nath.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, VS Vinay, Vikram Pillay, Prabhod Tirkey, Ignace Tirkey.

Forwards: Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh, Shivedra Singh, Rajpal Singh, Arjun Halappa, Tushar Khandekar, S.V. Sunil, Bharat Chhikara.

Stand-bye: Bharat Chetri, Ajitesh Roy, Sadar Singh, Sarwanjit Singh, Hari Prashad, Ravi Paul.

Officials: Harindra Singh (coach incharge), Ramandeep Singh (coach), Romeo James (coach), Mithai M.V. (trainer), Shrikant (physio) and Ashok Kumar (technical manager).

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |