India win toss, bat against South Africa

April 3rd, 2008 - 11:15 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh

Ahmedabad, April 3 (IANS) India captain Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test against South Africa at the Sardar Patel (Gujarat) Stadium in Motera here Thursday. All-rounder Irfan Pathan was included in the side in place of Sachin Tendulkar who is missing the match due to a groin problem.


India: Anil Kumble (captain), Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, V.V.S. Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh and Sreesanth

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Neil McKenzie, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince, A.B. de Villiers, Mark Boucher (wicket-keeper), Morne Morkel, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn and Makhaya Ntini

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (West Indies) and A.L. Hill (New Zealand)
TV umpire: Suresh Shastri (India)
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire: A.Y. Dandekar (India)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |