India to bat first in World Cup opener

February 19th, 2011 - 3:21 pm ICT by ANI  

Virender Sehwag Mirpur, Feb 19 (ANI): Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field against India in the first match of the 2011 World Cup.

MS Dhoni’s men, who will now bat first, will look to take the revenge against the Bangladeshis, as they were defeated by them in their first clash in the last edition of the World Cup.

Indian pacer Ashish Nehra has been ruled out of the opening match due to a back injury.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, S Sreesanth.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Naeem Islam, Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |