India, Pakistan cricket teams arrive in Guwahati

November 14th, 2007 - 8:27 am ICT by admin  
The two teams were welcomed at the airport by a large number of cricket fans.

Security has been beefed up in Guwahati and security forces are alert to contain any challenge.

The manager of the Indian team, Lal Chand Rajput, bowling coach Venkatesh Prasad and fielding coach Rabin Singh are also accompanying the team.

After imposition of emergency in Pakistan, Nasim Ashraf, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, clarified that the development will not have any bearing on the team’s current visit to India.

“The imposition of emergency will not affect our team’s tour of India in any way,” Ashraf told The News.

“Our team will remain in India and I’m confident that the players will give their best in the series,” he added.

Second match of the series will be played at Mohali on November 8, third will be played at Kanpur on November 11, fourth at Gwalior on November 15 and fifth match will be played in Jaipur on November 18.

The Indian team members are: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Virendra Sehwag, Rabin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, R P Singh, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh and Murali Karthik.

The Pakistan team squad for the series include, Shoaib Malik (Captain) Younis Khan (Vice Captain), Abdur Rehman, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Anjum, Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal (Wicket Keeper), Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Salman Butt Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar Sohail Tanvir , Umar Gul Yasir Hameed. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |