India names 22-member squad for AFC Challenge Cup

February 12th, 2010 - 11:53 pm ICT by IANS  

Sushil Kumar New Delhi, Feb 12 (IANS) Defending champions India will field the under-23 squad that won the SAFF Cup for the AFC Challenge Cup starting Feb 17 in Colombo.
Barring goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya and defender Mohanraj, as the duo is with the senior team in Dubai, coach Sukhwinder Singh hasn’t made any changes to the winning combination.

The squad was named after conclusion of the preparatory camp in Pune, Friday. India will leave for Colombo, Sunday, and will take on Kyrgyzstan in their opener Feb 17.

India are clubbed with North Korea, Turkmenistan and Kyrgyzstan in Group B. India will take on Turkmenistan, Feb 19, in their second group B league match, while they will face North Korea in their third and last group league match, Feb 21.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh (JCT), Laxmikant Kattimani (Dempo), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal)

Defenders: Nirmal Chetri (East Bengal), Ravinder Singh (Air India), Dharmaraj Ravanan (Mahindra United), Denzil Franco (Mahindra United), Debabrata Roy (Mahindra United), Rowilson Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers), Thokchom Naoba Singh (Churchill Brothers), Robert Lalthlamuana (Churchill Brothers)

Midfielders: Balwant Singh (JCT), Joaquim Abranches (Dempo), Jibon Singh (East Bengal), Gurvinder Singh (JCT), Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers), Jewel Raja Skeikh (Dempo),Baljit Sahni (JCT)

Strikers: Sushil Kumar Singh (Mahindra United), Subhash Singh (East Bengal) Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune F.C), Jagtar Singh (Tata Football Academy)

Officials: Sukhvinder Singh (Coach), Syed Sabir Pasha (Assistant Coach), Chandru Jayaraman (Physiotherapist), Dr. Kiran Kulkarni (Doctor), Hardev Jadeja (Head of Delegation), V. M. Prithi Kumar (Masseur), Col.B M R Mehta (Media Officer), Mandar Tamhane (Manager)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |