ICL’s World Series starts April 9

April 1st, 2008 - 7:52 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, April 1 (IANS) Indian Cricket League (ICL) Tuesday announced its ‘ICL 20s World Series 2008′ tournament with three teams — ICL India, ICL Pakistan and ICL World — competing for the title next week. The ICL World Series will have in total seven matches with each team playing against the other twice, followed by finals. The tournament will be held from April 9-15 at the Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad.

Former Pakistan captain Inzaman-ul-haq will lead ICL Pakistan while New Zealand all-rounder Chris Cairns will captain the ICL World. Moin Khan will coach the Pakistan side while former England off spinner John Emburey will coach the World team. Steve Rixon, former Australian wicket keeper, will coach India.

ICL Executive Board chairman Kapil Dev said the final series would be a big test for the Indian players.

“With ICL World Series 2008, our domestic boys will face the toughest challenge of proving their cricketing credentials against two of the mightiest teams in the world.

“These Indian players will be selected after a thorough selection process based on their growth as cricketers and individual performance. The final Indian squad will be selected after the Edelweiss 20s Challenge’s second semi finals,” said Kapil.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |