I-League teams to be increased from 10 to 12

April 30th, 2008 - 12:23 am ICT by admin  

New Delhi, April 29 (IANS) The Football I-League will feature 12 teams from this year, All India Football Federation decided Tuesday. The inaugural I-league this season was competed by 10 teams.

A formal decision on the matter will be taken on May 5, a AIFF source told IANS after its Executive Committee meeting.

AIFF has also appointed a committee comprising two members to look into the matters related to the league.

It was also decided to cut down on the number of foreign players to two instead of three in the state league.

The AIFF will inspect the Mohun Bagan ground in Kolkata to see if it can host the I-League matches.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |