Goni struck 300th six of IPL (Statistical Highlights)

May 9th, 2008 - 7:25 am ICT by admin  

New Delhi, May 8 (IANS) When Manpreet Gony hit Shoaib Malik for a six in the thrilling last over Thursday, it not only took the Chennai Super Kings closer to victory against Delhi Daredevils but was also the 300th six of the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL). The first 28 matches of the Twenty20 league have witnessed 300 sixes and 854 fours.

The other statistical highlights are as follows:

# Delhi Daredevils have lost three and won four out of seven played. For Delhi Daredevils, the four-wicket defeat to Chennai Super Kings is their first in three matches at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

# Chennai Super Kings became the third team to register five wins in the IPL, joining Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab.

# Manpreet Gony, with Virender Sehwag’s wicket (clean bowled 23 off 18 balls), is now the fifth bowler to bag ten wickets or more in the competition. Zaheer Khan and Irfan Pathan, with 12 wickets each, are the leading wicket-takers while Rudra Pratap Singh, Ashish Nehra and Gony share the second spot with ten wickets each.

# Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan registered the highest third-wicket partnership of the IPL. The duo had put on 121 against Chennai Super Kings Thursday. The previous best for the third wicket partnership was 104, registered twice - by Matthew Hayden and Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings vs. Mumbai Indians at Chennai April 23 and by Graeme Smith and Shane Watson for Rajasthan Royals vs. Bangalore Royal Challengers at Bangalore April 26.

# The 121-run partnership between Gambhir and Dhawan was the tenth century run stand in the IPL.

# Of the nine players with 200 runs or more in the IPL, Delhi Daredevils provide three - Gambhir (305 at an average of 50.83), Sehwag (270 at an average of 45.00) and Dhawan (206 at an average of 51.50).

# Dhoni, with 229 runs at an average of 32.71, is the fourth highest run-getter in the tournament, next only to Gambhir (305), Sehwag (270) and Rohit Sharma (258).

# Dhoni became the fourth player to receive two man-of-the-match awards in the IPL - the first three being Shane Watson, Virender Sehwag and Adam Gilchrist.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |