FIFA 2010 World Cup Draw announced

December 5th, 2009 - 1:44 am ICT by Aishwarya Bhatt  

Cape Town, Dec 4 (THAINDIAN NEWS) The draw for the 2010 FIFA World Cup has been announced. The draw was held in Cape Town. And the group selections are exciting to say the least. England will face Slovenia, the team that shocked Russia in a World Cup play-off last month, the U.S.A. and Algeria at next year’s finals, to be held in South Africa.

The hosts of the World Cup South Africa will face Mexico, Uruguay and France. Whereas the titleholders Italy will face New Zealand, Paraguay and Slovakia, while the hot favorites Brazil take on North Korea, Ivory Coast and Portugal.

This is the first time that the tournament, is taking place in South Africa, it will start on June 11 and will enthrall the fans till July 11. The opening match will be between the hosts South Africa and Mexico.

The top two teams go through to the knockout stages.

Group A - South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France
Group B - Argentina, South Korea, Nigeria, Greece
Group C - England, U.S.A., Algeria, Slovenia
Group D - Germany, Australia, Ghana, Serbia
Group E - Netherlands, Japan, Cameroon, Denmark
Group F - Italy, New Zealand, Paraguay, Slovakia
Group G - Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal
Group H - Spain, Honduras, Chile, Switzerland

Group C is being called the Group of Death. And Group G is being called the New Group of Death.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |