England opt to bat against India

November 20th, 2008 - 11:15 am ICT by IANS  

Kanpur, Nov 20 (IANS) England captain Kevin Pietersen won the toss and elected to bat against India in the third One-Day International of the Hero Honda Cup here Thursday.Both the teams made one change each. Fast bowler Ishant Sharma replaced Rudra Pratap Singh in the Indian team while England brought in off-spinner Graeme Swann in place of fast bowler Steve Harmisson.

Poor light forced a delayed start prompting the match officials to reduce the game to 49 overs per side.


England: Kevin Pietersen (captain), Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Ian Bell, Owais Shah, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Samit Patel and James Anderson.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel

Umpires: Ameish Saheba (India) and Russel Tiffin (Zimbabwe)
TV umpire: Suresh Shastri (India)
Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |