Do-or-die battle for Chennai Super Kings

May 26th, 2008 - 9:18 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, May 26 (IANS) Chennai Super Kings might have had a rousing start in the Indian Premier League, but all their efforts to reach semifinal will come to nought if they falter against Deccan Chargers here Tuesday. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s men lost the close match against Rajasthan Royals Saturday and are now in a must-win situation against Chargers.

Super Kings are on 14 points in fourth position in the League standings, but any slip Tuesday will see them out of the competition.

Super Kings’ loss will benefit either Delhi Daredevils, who are waiting for not only the outcome of the match but also the results of the remaining two games the Mumbai Indians have to play.

Beating Deccan Chargers though should not be difficult for the Super Kings as the Chargers are at the bottom of the table. But Super Kings will have at the back of their minds that one of the Chargers’ victories came against them, the other being also an away victory against Mumbai Indians.

Chargers lost their last match to Bangalore Royal Challengers and they have got one last opportunity to finish on a winning note and bring some cheer to their local fans. Chargers have lost all their matches at home.

Super Kings have lost the zip in their game ever since they lost their Australian imports Matthew Hayden and Mike Hussey and have just about managed to win three more matches after their terrific four in a row to start with.

Dhoni needs to regroup his team and he himself should bat in the manner he is known to if the team has to find a place in the semis.

The bowlers Manpreet Gony, Makhaya Ntini, Lakshmipathi Balaji and Muttaiah Muralitharan though have done a good job.

The teams (from):

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Captain), Sanjay Bangar, Haldhar Das (wk), Harscelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, D. Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, D. Ravi Teja, P. M. Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, R. P. Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Y. Venugopala Rao, P. Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Chennai Super Kings: M. S. Dhoni (Captain), Viraj Vilas Kadbe, P. Amarnath, S. Anirudha, R. Aswhin, S. Badrinath, Lakshmipathi Balaji, Stephen Fleming, Manpreet Gony, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Chamara Kapugedera, Arun Karthik, Suresh Kumar, Albie Morkel, Abhinav Mukund, M Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini, Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Suresh Raina and S. Vidyut.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |