Dhoni bags Spirit of Cricket award, Trott is Cricketer of the Year

September 13th, 2011 - 9:15 pm ICT by IANS  

Kumar Sangakkara London, Sep 13 (IANS) Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the Spirit of Cricket Award at the International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards while England batsman Jonathan Trott was named the Cricketer of the Year.

England one-day captain Alastair Cook bagged the Test Cricketer of the Year for a prolific season with the bat. Former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara was chosen the ODI player of the year.

Dhoni was picked ahead of the competition for allowing Ian Bell to continue batting after he was run out in controversial circumstances during the Trent Bridge Test in July.

“While the initial appeal and umpire’s decision were correct to the letter of the law, the decision by Mahendra and his team to withdraw the appeal shows great maturity. To see players and officials uphold the Great Spirit of cricket, which has underpinned the game for more than a century, is very special,” said ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

The award is voted by the members of the Elite Panels of ICC Match Referees and Umpires. Dhoni’s gesture was voted as the winner ahead of that of South Africa’s Jacques Kallis, who twice demonstrated such spirit during the 2011 World Cup by walking once he had clarified with opposition fielders directly that they had caught the ball cleanly rather than waiting for the umpires to decide.

Trott was honoured after an extraordinary 12 months with the bat. In 12 Tests, he compiled 1,042 runs at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. In addition, he played 24 ODIs, hitting 1,064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s.

The independent voting academy of 25 highly credentialled cricket experts picked Trott ahead of Cook, India’s Sachin Tendulkar and South Africa’s Hashim Amla.

Trott’s ODI captain Cook was rewarded for a stupendous batting run in the longer format of the game.

During the performance period, Cook played 12 Tests and in 18 innings, he compiled 1,302 runs at an average of 51.74, including six centuries and four half-centuries. His highest score of 235 not out against Australia at Brisbane helped his team towards series victory as it won the Ashes away from home for the first time since the 1986-87 season.

Sangakkara’s performance in ODIs were acknowledged in a year when he guided Sri Lanka to the World Cup final.

He played 25 ODIs and compiled 1,049 runs at an average of 55.21, including one century and seven half-centuries. As wicketkeeper, he also took 36 victims comprising 26 catches and 10 stumpings.

In the other categories, West Indian leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo got the award for the Emerging Player of the Year.

The Netherlands’ all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate won the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award for the second year in a row.

New Zealand fast bowler Tim Southee won the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year in recognition of his five wickets for 18 runs against Pakistan in Auckland last year.

Pakistani Umpire Aleem Dar won the David Shepherd Trophy for third time after being named ICC Umpire of the Year. Dar was voted to this award by the 10 Full Member captains as well as the eight-man Elite Panel of Match Referees, based on his decision statistics and officiating skills over the past 12 months.

The ICC Awards ceremony is now in its eighth year. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bangalore (2010).

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |