Delhi football league starts Dec 26 with 14 teams

November 24th, 2008 - 10:03 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Nov 24 (IANS) After much dilly-dallying, the Delhi Soccer Association (DSA) is all set to start its senior division league with 14 teams at the Ambedkar Stadium from Dec 26.The league was supposed to start in September but lack of interest from the DSA officials saw the league pushed back.

The 14 teams have been divided in two groups of seven each. The top five teams each of the two groups will qualify for Super League which will be played on round robin basis. The two top teams will face each other for the title clash.

According to the rules of the All India Football Federation (AIFF), each team can register only two foreigners.

The eight top teams of the league will qualify for the Asian Football Confederation’s (AFC) vision Delhi City Elite League to be held in July.


Group A: Osian - New Delhi Heroes, Hind-Ahbab FC, Garhwal Heroes, Shahdara, Indian Air Force (New Delhi), Youngmen SC, Royal Rangers

Group B: Indian National, Tarun Sangha, City FC, G4S-Hindustan, Shastri FC, Spice Energy-Simla Youngs, Indian Air Force (Palam)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |