C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for Mohinder Amarnath

November 10th, 2009 - 4:30 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, Nov 10 (IANS) Mohinder Amarnath, one of India’s greatest all-rounders, was chosen for the C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the Indian cricket board here Tuesday.
Mohinder, commonly known as Jimmy, will get a trophy, a citation and a cash prize of Rs.1.5 million. Mohinder, born Sep 24, 1950, was the son of independent India’s first Test captain Lala Amarnath, who was also the first recipient of this prestigious award in 1994.

Mohinder scored 4,378 runs from 69 Tests and 1,924 runs from 85 ODIs. He will be remembered for winning back-to-back Man-of-the-Match awards in the 1983 World Cup semi-final and final as India went on to lift the trophy. In the final against the West Indies, he scored 26 and picked up three for 12 as India scripted one of the greatest upsets in world cricket.

He made his Test debut against Bill Lawry’s touring Australians in 1969-70. His 85 against the West Indies at Port of Spain in 1975-76 helped India achieve a world record target of 403. Two years later, he scored 90 and 100 at Perth, against an attack led by Jeff Thomson.

Mohinder had a dream run in the 1982-83 season. He marked his return to the Indian team after a three-year gap, with 1,182 runs from 11 back-to-back Tests, in Pakistan and the West Indies. The performance prompted cricket pundits to rate him as the world’s best player of fast bowling.

After retiring from international cricket, Mohinder had coaching stints with Bangladesh and Morocco and the Rajasthan Ranji Trophy team. He created a cricketing coaching TV series, and penned a book on the same. He was appointed consultant of the Bengal Ranji team in 2008.

Past winners of C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award:

1994 - Lala Amarnath

1995 - Syed Mushtaq Ali

1996 - Vijay Hazare

1997 - K.N. Prabhu

1998 - Polly Umrigar

1999 - Hemachandra Adhikari

2000 - Subhash Gupte

2001 - Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

2002 - Bhausaheb Nimbalkar

2003 - Chandrakant Borde

2004 - Bishan Singh Bedi, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Erapalli Prasanna, Srinivas Venkataraghavan

2007 - Nariman Contractor

2008 - Gundappa Viswanath

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |