Chargers take on Daredevils at home

April 21st, 2008 - 10:44 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, April 21 (IANS) Having lost their opening match to Kolkata Knight Riders, Deccan Chargers will be all keyed up when they take on Delhi Daredevils at home in the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 tournament Tuesday. Chargers were done what their captain V V S Laxman said a shocking Eden Gardens pitch against Kolkata Knight Riders, but they didn’t give up till the last over as the match went down to the wire. Tuesday, the Chargers hope to have a good pitch to bat on and put up a good show.

The mighty batting line-up of the Deccan Chargers will be boosted by the presence of explosive Pakistani Shahid Afridi for the clash at the Rajiv Gandhi international stadium. Apart from Afridi, the Chargers have Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Y. Venugopal Rao and Rohit Sharma besides Laxman.

The names speak for themselves and they will be up against Glenn McGrath, spearhead of Daredevils’ attack. The Australian tearaway, who has quit cricket a year ago, was in sublime form in the visitors’ first win at home in their win Saturday. Sri Lankan Farveez Maharoof is also in form and he should play a key role for Daredevils who will be strengthened with Pakistani speedster Mohammed Asif joining them.

Chargers’ bowling department also looks impressive with Chaminda Vass,Andrew Symonds, Scott Styris, Rudra Pratap Singh and talented Hyderabad left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha doing a great job in the first game.


Deccan Chargers: V.V.S. Laxman (captain), Scott Styris, Adam Gilchrist (wicketkeeper), H Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Sanjay Bangar, Rohit Sharma, Chamara Silva, Y Venugopal Rao, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Haldhar Das (wicketkeeper), D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, DB Raviteja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, R P Singh, P Vijay Kumar and Arjun Yadav

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Tiwari, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Malik, Dinesh Kartik, Glenn McGrath, Mohammed Asif, Ferveez Meharoof, Pradeep Sangwan, Brett Geeves, Rajat Bhatia, Shikar Dhawan, Yo Mahesh, Tillakratne Dilshad, Abdul Razzak, Mithun Manhas, Mayank Tehlan, Amit Mishra, Tejaswi Yadav, A.B de Villiers and Yogesh Nagar

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |