Board rewards domestic performers in IPL

May 31st, 2008 - 10:43 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, May 31 (IANS) The domestic cricketers who have performed well in the Indian Premier League (IPL) were rewarded by the Indian cricket board Saturday by selecting them to represent the country in the forthcoming series in Israel and Australia. An Indian team will tour Israel for three one-dayers July 10-16 while another side will travel to Australia to participate in the Emerging Players tournament July 14-26.

Jaydev Shah, son of board secretary Niranjan Shah, will lead the 15-member team to Israel. Swapnil Asnodkar (Rajasthan Royals), Wriddhiman Saha, Ashok Dinda (both Kolkata Knight Riders), who are in the team, have all done well for their respective franchises in the IPL.

The team to Australia will be led by Chennai Super Kings’ Parthiv Patel. His IPL team mate Subramaniam Badrinath will be his deputy. Amit Mishra, Manoj Tiwari (both Delhi Daredevils), Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni (both Mumbai Indians) and Manpreet Gony (Super Kings) are also part of this 15-member team.

Team for Israel: Jaydev Shah (captain), Swapnil Asnodkar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravi Teja, M. Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha, Rajat Bhatia, Yogesh Takawale, Rakesh Dhruv, Mohnish Parmar, Vishal Bhatia, Basant Mohanty, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashok Dinda, Vinay Kumar

Team for emerging players’ tournament: Parthiv Patel (captain), S. Badrinath (vice-captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Manoj Tiwari, Abhishek Nayar, Virat Kohli, Amit Mishra, Pankaj Singh, Manpreet Gony, Siddharth Trivedi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdulla, Ravinder Jadeja, Pinal Shah

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |