Black Caps name Twenty20 squad

February 12th, 2009 - 3:10 pm ICT by ANI  

Brisbane, Feb.12 (ANI): New Zealand have included four new faces, including the older brother of wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum, in their squad for Sunday’’s Twenty20 clash with Australia at the SCG.
Off-spinning allrounder Nathan McCullum, pace duo Ian Butler and James Franklin, and batsman Peter McGlashan will join the Black Caps for the first time on their Australian limited-overs tour.
The quartet, all boasting international experience, according to The Sun, replace Trent Boult, Craig Cumming, Brendon Diamanti, Peter Fulton, Gareth Hopkins and Jeetan Patel who return to NZ after Friday’’s Chappell-Hadlee decider at the Gabba.
Chief selector Glenn Turner said his panel had opted to bring in multi-skilled players, well suited to the Twenty20 game format.
New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Iain O”Brien, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |