Bhajji out, Jadeja the new face in Indian ODI team for Lanka tour

January 18th, 2009 - 7:41 pm ICT by ANI  

Harbhajan Singh

Mumbai, Jan.18 (ANI): The national selection committee on Sunday announced its 15-member one-day international team for the upcoming cricket tour of Sri Lanka which includes one new face — Saurashtra all rounder Ravindra Jadeja.
The 20-year-old Jadeja has been rewarded for his consistent performance i.e. taking 42 wickets and scoring over 740 runs in the current first class season His inclusion is stated to have remained on the cards for long time. Jadeja’’s Saurashtra teammate Cheteshwar Pujara, however, was given short shrift as the selectors kept faith largely in the players who had helped India vanquish England 5-0 after winning the previous rubber in Sri Lanka.
Meanwhile, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has not been included for the tour because of a hamstring injury.
Two frontline spinners — Pragyan Ojha and Jadeja — have been picked in his place.
The team also includes Uttar Pradesh’’s seamer Meerut lad Praveen Kumar, who was left out of the one day team after the ODI series in Sri Lanka in August last year. He makes a comeback into the one-day fold.
Virat Kohli, the Delhi batsman who was part of the ODI squad in the home series against England, was dropped from the team announced by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale after a meeting of the selectors in Mumbai on Sunday.
Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was also present at the meeting.
The Indian squad would assemble in Chennai on January 25 and practice under lights at the Chidambaram Stadium. It will depart for Colombo the next day, Jagdale said in a statement.
The team consists of seven frontline batsmen, including captain and stumper Dhoni, three all-rounders, four pace bowlers and spinner Ojha.
The India cricket squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin R. Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and Praveen Kumar and Pragyan Ojha.
The first two ODIs of the series would be played at the Rangiri Dambulla International cricket stadium on January 28 and 30.
Colombo’’s R Premadasa International Cricket stadium will host the third and fourth matches on February 2 and 5, besides the only Twenty20 match of the tour scheduled for February 10.
The fifth ODI is scheduled on February 8 at Sinhalese Sports Club, also in Colombo. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |