BCCI will determine u-19 players’ IPL price

February 24th, 2008 - 8:24 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Feb 24 (IANS) The Indian cricket board will determine the Indian Premier League (IPL) price of the under-19 players after the World Cup now on in Malaysia so that they could concentrate on the tournament, a top board official said Sunday. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has told the under-19 players to stop immediately negotiating with the eight IPL franchisees as it was taking their focus away from the game.

“We have told the youngsters playing in Malaysia to stop negotiating their price with the franchisees and concentrate on the game. After the tournament, the BCCI will determine their price tags,” IPL governing council member Rajeev Shukla told IANS.

“The players were negotiating with the franchisees and this was distracting them during the tournament. So to put a stop to all this, the BCCI has decided that it will determine their IPL price after the tournament,” he pointed out.

The BCCI has also made it clear that no junior player would move out of his respective areas.

“All under-19 players will only be able to play for their catchment areas,” said Shukla, who is also secretary of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association.

The teams and their catchments areas are: Mumbai (Mumbai, Maharashtra and Vidarbha); Bangalore (Karnataka, Goa and Services); Chennai (Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Railways); Kolkata (Bengal, Jharkhand, Assam, Tripura and Sikkim); Hyderabad (Hyderabad, Andhra and Orissa); Delhi (Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh); Mohali (Haryana, Punjab, Himachal and Jammu and Kashmir); and Jaipur (Rajasthan, Gujarat, Baroda and Saurashtra).

Shukla disclosed that with loads of money coming into play at the IPL, some youngsters with the senior Indian team in Australia were also getting distracted.

“One player is said to have signed three contracts. He was cleverly bargaining by showing the previous contract to rival franchisees,” he said.

Each of the eight teams is allowed to register a maximum of eight foreign players, but only four can play in any match. The XII for each match will comprise four of the BCCI-contracted players, four Ranji Trophy players/under-22 players/u-19 players, besides the four overseas players.

The franchisees spent a cumulative $718 million to buy the eight teams. They were Mukesh Ambani (Mumbai), Vijay Mallya (Bangalore), Shah Rukh Khan (Kolkata), Preity Zinta (Mohali), Emerging Media (Jaipur), Deccan Chronicle (Hyderabad), India Cements (Chennai) and GMR Group (Delhi).

It will be a 44-day tournament this year. The first game between Bangalore and Kolkata will be played under floodlights at Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium April 18.

The winning team will receive $3 million.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |