BCCI directive clears air on Duleep Trophy selection

January 10th, 2009 - 10:47 pm ICT by IANS  

Kolkata, Jan 10 (IANS) The Indian cricket board has ruled that the national selector from a zone would chair meetings to pick Duleep Trophy teams even if there were two representatives from the zone at the meeting.Following that, national selection panel member from East Zone Raja Venkat Saturday chaired the Duleep Trophy team selection meeting from the zone, though Bengal was represented by the state’s chairman of selectors Sambaran Banerjee.

With Venkat also from Bengal, there were for all practical purposes two representatives from the state in the meeting at Guwahati that chose Shiv Sundar Das of Orissa as the East Zone skipper. Das’s statemate Rashmi Ranjan Parida was named his deputy.

Venkat, however, claimed that the problem of dual representation did not arise.

“Things were very peaceful in the meeting. The problem of dual representation didn’t arise as the Board had already issued directives to allow the BCCI-appointed selector to chair the meeting. And the selections were unanimous,” Venkat said.

Utpal Chatterjee was appointed coach. Chatterjee had been pulled up by the Jagmohan Dalmiya-led Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for making “irresponsible public comments” in the run-up to Bengal’s Ranji Trophy super league quarter final against Tamil Nadu.

Five players each from Bengal and Orissa, two each from Assam and Tripura and one from Jharkhand figure in the 15-member squad.

East Zone play their lung opener against West Zone in Mumbai Jan 29.

Squad: Shiv Sunder Das (captain), R.R. Parida (vice captain), Niranjan Behera, Basant Mohanti, H.N. Das (all Orissa), Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha, Dibyendu Chakrabarty, Ranadeb Bose, Ashok Dinda (all Bengal), Anant Katti, Krishna Das (both Assam), Saurav Tewari (Jharkhand), Jayanta Debnath and Tushar Saha (both Tripura). Coach: Utpal Chatterjee. Manager: Nagesh Singh (Assam).

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |