Australian cricket team arrives in India Sep 29

April 9th, 2008 - 6:57 pm ICT by admin  

Sydney, April 9 (IANS) After a summer of high-voltage cricket, fans can look forward to an interesting and exciting clash when Australian team arrives in India Sep 29 for a Test series. The four-Test matches in the battle for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be held in Bangalore, Mohali, Delhi and Nagpur.

Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland said, “The rivalry between Australia and India has developed into one of the most captivating contests in world cricket.”

“The 2007-08 series was highlighted by dramatic, brilliant cricket which added another chapter to the passionate competition between the world’s two best Test playing nations.

“I’m sure all cricket lovers in Australia and India are awaiting the 2008 series with great anticipation,” Sutherland added.

Australia currently holds the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after it clinched a 2-1 series victory earlier this year.

Australia will play a four-day practice match (Oct 2-5) before the first Test in Bangalore Oct 9-13. The second (Oct 17-21) and third (Oct 28-Nov 1) Tests will be played at Mohali and Delhi respectively, and the fourth and final Test in Nagpur Nov 5-9.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |