Australia names 15-member squad for Champions Trophy

August 22nd, 2009 - 3:07 pm ICT by ANI  

Melbourne, Aug. 22 (ANI): Nine of the players currently playing in the fifth Ashes Test at The Oval, have been included in Australia’s 15-man squad for next month’s Champion’s Trophy to be played in South Africa.

The national selection panel has resisted the temptation to blood some exciting youngsters.

The 15-man squad features six players in their 30s and just two under the age of 25.

‘The NSP has selected a squad for the Champions Trophy which is similar to squad assembling in the UK to play against England,’ the chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said.

‘The Champions Trophy is a key event on ICC’s cricket calendar and is a good opportunity for us to see how this new-look Australian one-day squad goes in its bid to retain the trophy.’

‘The one-day team hasn’t played in a major tournament since the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup and this will be a good chance to see where we are at,’ Hilditch said,

The squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |