Australia defeat India by 9 wickets in T20 International

February 1st, 2008 - 7:09 pm ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh
Melbourne, Feb 1 (ANI): Australia defeated India by nine wickets in Twenty20 International at the Melbourne Cricket Ground today.
It was a humiliating defeat for India, who only four months earlier were crowned the world’s best Twenty20 side.
Earlier, after electing to bat first, India scored the second-lowest score of 74 in T20 International, behind Kenya’s record of 73.
The T-20 World Cup holders at South Africa could not complete their allotted overs and were all out in 17.3 overs, while Australia took less than 12 overs to post their first Twenty20 win against India.
Irfan Pathan top scored with 26 runs for India. Virendra Sehwag and S Sreesanth failed to open their accounts.
All other Indian cricketers did not enter double figures, including opener Gautam Gambhir, captain M S Doni, K D Karthik and R G Sharma.
Nathan Bracken took the three wickets of Gambhir, R Uthappa and Pathan, while Brett Lee, A Noffke, J Hopes and D Hussey took one wicket each. Adam Voges took the wickets of Harbhajan Singh and S Sreesanth. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |