Asian Champions Trophy: Rajpal to lead men’s team, Anjum women’s

August 16th, 2011 - 8:06 pm ICT by IANS  

Govinda New Delhi, Aug 16 (IANS) Rajpal Singh will be leading India’s men’s team and striker Saba Anjum will be captaining the women’s in the next month’s Asian Champions Trophy hockey in Ordos, China.

Rajpal will be leading a young 18-member side in the inaugural men’s event that would be held Sep 3-11.

Senior players like Arjun Halappa, Shivendra Singh, Dharamvir, Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chikara are missing the series due to injuries while senior goalkeeper Adrian D’Souza and veteran forward Prabhjot Singh were dropped.

Shivendra is recovering from a collar bone fracture while Halappa and Khandekar are suffering from groin and ankle injuries.

The squad was announced by Hockey India selectors Balbir Singh, B.P. Govinda and A.B. Subbaiah along with government observers Harbinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey after a two-day trial at Bangalore that ended August 14.

Ace drag-flicker Sandeep Singh and mid-fielder Sardara Singh, who were showcaused by federation for attending a promotional event of World Series Hockey last month, were also selected.

India’s chief coach Micheal Nobbs was happy with the team for his first assignment.

“I am happy with the team. We selected the team purely on the basis of merit. We also selected the team keeping in the forthcoming tour to Australia and the Champions Trophy at home,” he said.

India will open the campaign against hosts China, September 3. The tournament also involves Japan, South Korea, Malaysia and Pakistan.

Meanwhile, the 17-member women’s squad was selected after trials held at Bhopal. The top four teams from the Asian Games held at Guangzhou last year are participating in the second edition of the tournament. Besides India, the other participating teams are China, South Korea and Japan.

India open their campaign against South Korea, September 4, before facing Japan (September 6) and China (September 8) in the subsequent matches. The final is slated for September 10.

Men’s squad:
Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, P.R.Sreejesh
Defenders: Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh and Harpreet Singh
Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Ignace Tirkey, Manpreet Singh, Manjit Kullu
Forwards: Rajpal Singh (captain), Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjit Singh, S.V. Sunil, Ravi Pal, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Roshan Minz, Yuvraj Walmiki
Standbys: Kamaldeep Singh (goalkeeper), V.R. Raghunath (defender), Vikas Sharma (midfielder)
Birender Lakra (midfielder), Mandip Antil (forward) and Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (forward)

Sep 3:India vs. China
Sep 4:India vs. Japan
Sep 6:India vs. South Korea
Sep 7:India vs. Malaysia
Sep 9:India vs Pakistan
Sep 11:Classification matches and final

Women’s squad:
Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita
Defenders: Joydeep Kaur, Jaspreet Kaur, Th. Pinki Devi
Midfielders: Ritu Rani, Asunta Lakra, Kirandeep Kaur, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika Kiran Dahiya
Forwards: Saba Anjum (captain), Jasjeet Kaur Handa, Poonam Rani, Vandana Kataria, Rani
Th. Anuradha Devi, Soundarya Yendala
Standbys: Rajani Etimarpu (goalkeeper), Preety Sunila Kiro (defender), M.N. Ponnamma (midfielder)
Sushila Chanu (midfielder), Deep Grace Ekka (midfielder), Roselin Dung Dung (forward), Lilima Minz (forward) and Rashmi Singh (forward)

Sep 4:India vs. Korea
Sep 6:India vs. Japan
Sep 8:India vs. China
Sep 10:bronze medal match and final

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |