All parties to confirm vote numbers ahead of UPA Govt. floor test

July 14th, 2008 - 5:52 pm ICT by ANI  

Bahujan Samaj Party

New Delhi , July 14 (ANI): Ahead of the United Progressive Alliance Governments floor test on July 22, all parties are stepping up to confirm their votes.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal has asked its Members of Parliament to be present in Parliament on July 21-22 to vote in favour of the UPA Government.

RJD leader Ram Kripal Yadav said that the two RJD MPs Mohammad Shahbuddin and Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav who are currently in jail, have sought the courts permission to be present in parliament on the occasion.

The party has asked its MPs to be present in Delhi a week ahead of the special session.

The Left, the National Democratic Alliance, the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Shiromani Akali Dal too have declared their intention to vote against the government.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal said in Jalandhar that the Shiromani Akali Dal is a constituent of the NDA and will follow the stand taken by it. The Akali Dal has eight MPs.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, which is the Congress ally, preferred not to divulge its stand on the issue. Party Chief Shibu Soren said in Bokaro that the Parliamentary party will meet on July 19 to decide on the trust vote. JMM has five MPs.

The Peoples Democratic Party in Jammu and Kashmir has already pledged its support to the government.

Former Congress ally, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which has three members, said it will vote against the government unless a resolution is passed by the Lok Sabha in favour of creating a new Telangana State .

The UPA Government is confident of proving majority in the Lok Sabha. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |