2008 Espy Award winners announced!

July 18th, 2008 - 1:18 am ICT by admin  

The ESPY Awards is an annual sports awards event created and broadcast by American cable television network ESPN. Begun in 1993, the event confers eponymous awards, fully styled as Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Awards, for individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance during the calendar year preceding a given ceremony. As the similarly-styled Grammy (for music), Emmy (for television), and Academy Awards (for film), the ESPYs are hosted by a contemporary celebrity.

The full list of this year’s winners follows:

Special Awards:

• Arthur Ashe Courage Award:Trevor Ringland and Dave Cullen, PeacePlayers.
• Jimmy V ESPY for Perseverance: Kay Yow, North Carolina State women’s-basketball coach.

Best in Sport:

• Best Female Athlete:Taryne Mowatt, University of Arizona softball.
• Best Male Athlete:Tomlinson.
• Best Moment:New Orleans Saints return home, beat Atlanta Falcons on Monday Night Football.
• Best Team:Colts.
• Best Coach/Manager:Dungy.
• Best Game:Fiesta Bowl: Boise State over Oklahoma.
• Best Championship Performance:Manning.
• Best Play:Boise State beats Oklahoma with a two-point conversion using the Statue of Liberty play.
• Best Finish:San Diego Padres at Los Angeles Dodgers, Sept. 18, 2006 — Dodgers hit four straight home runs to tie the game, then Nomar Garciaparra wins it with a home run in the 10th inning.
• Best Upset:Golden State Warriors over top-seeded Dallas Mavericks in first round of NBA playoffs.
• Best Breakthrough Athlete:Devin Hester, Chicago Bears.
• Best Record-Breaking Performance:Tomlinson.
• Best Sports Movie: Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.
• Best Male College Athlete:Kevin Durant, University of Texas basketball.
• Best Female College Athlete:Taryne Mowatt, University of Arizona softball.
• Best Male Athlete with a Disability:Casey Tibbs, track and field.
• Best Female Athlete with a Disability:Jessica Long, paralympic swimming.
• Best Male International Athlete:Roger Federer, tennis.
• Best Female International Athlete:Maria Sharapova, tennis.

Individual Sports:

• Best Baseball Player:Derek Jeter, New York Yankees.
• Best NBA Player:James.
• Best WNBA Player:Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks.
• Best NFL Player:Tomlinson.
• Best NHL Player:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins.
• Best MLS Player:Landon Donovan, Los Angeles Galaxy.
• Best Male Action Sport Athlete:Travis Pastrana, motocross.
• Best Female Action Sport Athlete:Sarah Burke, skiing.
• Best Bowler:Norm Duke.
• Best Driver:Jeff Gordon.
• Best Fighter:Floyd Mayweather, boxing.
• Best Golfer:Tiger Woods.
• Best Jockey:Calvin Borel.
• Best Outdoor Athlete:Dean Karnazes, marathon.
• Best Male Tennis Player:Federer.
• Best Female Tennis Player:Sharapova.
• Best Track and Field Athlete: Jeremy Wariner.

Sponsored Awards:

• Hummer - Like Nothing Else Award: Tomlinson.
• Under Armour Undeniable Award, Best Women’s Collegiate Team: University of Tennessee basketball.

Related Stories

Tags: , ,

Posted in Events, Sports |