11 Commonwealth Games venues handed over to organising committee

August 6th, 2010 - 10:45 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Aug 6 (IANS) The Commonwealth Games Organising Committee (CGOC) Friday took control of 11 competition venues to host the Oct 3-14 Games.
The organising committee’s venue team will now start the process of checking the assets and assessing the condition of all venues. The venue for lawn tennis, R.K. Khanna Stadium, was the first to be handed over to the CGOC.

The Rugby7s venue in Delhi University and Thyagraj Stadium for netball has also been handed over. The organising commitee also took charge of the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium for hockey, Indira Gandhi Sports Complex and Karni Shooting Range.

“The remaining four venues hosting seven sports will be taken over by the weekend. We will make sure everything is in place before our team takes over each of the venues,” said Lalit Bhanot, secretary general of CGOC.

Venues taken over by CGOC: R.K Khanna Stadium (tennis), Thyagraj Stadium (netball), Delhi University (Rugby7s), Talkatora Stadium (boxing), Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium (hockey), Indira Gandhi Sports Complex (cycling, gymnastics and wrestling), Karni Singh Shooting Range, Siri Fort (for badminton and squash).

Following seven venues will be taken over by the weekend: S.P. Mukherjee Sports Complex (swimming), Yamuna Sports Complex (table tennis), Yamuna Sports Complex (archery), Jawahar Lal Nehru Stadium, Athletics (weightlifting), Jawahar Lal Nehru Stadium (lawn bowls and athletics) and Full Bore Shooting Range at Kadarpur.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |