Tripura Assembly begins today

March 17th, 2008 - 11:58 am ICT by admin  

Agartala, Mar 17 (ANI): The first session of the newly formed tenth Tripura Assembly will begin at the historical Ujjayanta Palace this afternoon.
Governor D N Sahaya will address the House on its first sitting of the year.
”Since the new Government assumed office only last week, the full-fledged Budget is not possible at this moment but we will pass the vote on account for next three months and subsequently a separate Budget session will be convened,” newly appointed Finance Minister Badal Choudhury said.
Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be elected followed by formation of Business Advisory Committee (BAC) and its meeting.
The ruling Left Front had already announced its nominee Ramendra Chandra Debnath as Speaker and Bhanu Lal Saha as Deputy Speaker.
Debnath has held the post of Speaker for the past ten years and Saha won the election for the first time by defeating Tripura Congress president and former Chief Minister Samir Ranjan Barman from Bishalgarh in West Tripura.
The 60 seats of the Tripura Assembly comprise 46 legislators of Communist Party of India- Marxist (CPI-M), two of Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), one each from Communist Party of India (CPI) and Opposition Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) and 10 of Congress.
Around 19 different tribes residing in the hills of Tripura and they as well as people in the valley are living with agriculture as their main occupation. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |