Second test: India bat after winning toss

July 31st, 2008 - 1:12 pm ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh

Galle (Sri Lanka) July 31 (IANS) India weathered the Sri Lanka bowling attack without losing a wicket in the first half hour of the second test that started here Thursday, after skipper Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat. Both India and Sri Lanka named teams unchanged from the first Test in Colombo, a test that India lost by an innings and 239 runs.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, V.V.S. Laxman, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Anil Kumble (captain), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Malinda Warnapura, Michael Van Dort, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wicketkeeper), Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (West Indies) and Rudi Koertzen (South Africa)

Third Umpire: Gamini Silva (Sri Lanka)

TV Referral Umpire: Mark Benson (England)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |