RJD releases candidates list for 28 Bihar seats

March 23rd, 2009 - 2:38 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Mar. 23 (ANI): The Rashtriya Janta Dal has released its list of 28 candidates for Bihar, with Union Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav contesting from two constituencies in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. We will now contest in 28 out of 40 seats in Bihar as per our seat sharing pact with the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). We will work to defeat communal forces, Lalu said, while adding that the decision on two seats was yet to be taken. Lalu will contest from the Patliputra and Saran constituencies. The RJD list of the candidates includes Raghunath Jha (Valmikinagar), Akhilesh Pd. Singh (Purvi Champaran), Union Minister Raghuvansh Prasad Singh (Vaishali), M A A Fatmi (Darbhanga), Devendra Prasad Yadav (Jhanjharpur), Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav (Banka), and Kanti Singh (Karakat). Following RJD muscleman Shahabuddins conviction in criminal case, his wife Hina Saheb has been given ticket from Siwan constituency. The RJD will contest from 28 seats, while the LJP 12 seats of Bihars 40 under the seat-sharing pact between both parties. The Congress, which failed to reach on seat sharing consensus with its key allies (RJD-LJP) in the United Progressive Alliance, has said it would contest 37 seats in Bihar. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |