Popular leaders defeated in Pak elections

February 19th, 2008 - 1:23 pm ICT by admin  

Islamabad, Feb 19, (ANI): Pakistan Muslim League (PML) Chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussein and the former Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed were defeated in elections in their respective constituencies.

According to the Daily Times, reports, former minister and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) General Secretary Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar emerged a winner after defeating Chaudhry Shujaat Hussein by at least 13,293 votes.

Dr. Firdaus Awan defeated former National Assembly speaker Chaudhry Amir Hussain. Dr. Sher Afgan Niazi (PML-Q) and Khursheed Mehmood Kasuri were also defeated in their respective constituencies.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Rao Sikander and Chaudhry Shahbaz were defeated.

Two other candidates Alhaaj Mirza Saeed Baig and Chaudhry Gul Nawaz failed to pocket any votes. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |