Nepal constitutional committees to be formed today

December 15th, 2008 - 3:19 pm ICT by ANI  

Kathmandu, Dec 15 (ANI): Political parties in Nepal have submitted the list of their members who will participate in the committees to be formed under the Constituent Assembly (CA) and the legislative parliament today.
As per the constitution-drafting schedule of the Constituent Assembly, the political parties have submitted the names of the members to the CA Secretariat.
They have also finalised the number of members from their parties who will participate in the committees.
The number of members from the CPN-Maoists will be 17 while nine each member will be from the Nepali Congress and the CPN-UML. Similarly, the Madhesi Janadhikar Forum will have four members and the Terai Madshesh Loktantric Party will have two members.
Other members in the Constituent Assembly will have a member each in the committees.
There will be fourteen Constituent Assembly committees and nine legislative parliament committee apart from one more committee headed by Constituent Assembly chair.
According to the working calendar of writing a new Constitution, which was approved by all the parties at Constituent Assembly, the committees should have been formed and their chairpersons chosen by today, Kantipur reported. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |