Maoists set to sweep the Constituent Assembly polls in Nepal

April 14th, 2008 - 4:12 pm ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, Apr 14 (ANI): The Communist Party of Nepal-Maoists has so far won 89 of the 163 constituencies for which results have been declared, and appears to be heading for a landslide victory.
The other two major parties — Nepali Congress (NC) and the Unified Marxist Leninist (UML) are engaged in neck-to-neck competition.
The NC has pocketed 28 seats while UML has bagged 23 seats.
Meanwhile, the UML, one of the main constituents of the coalition government, has decided to pull out of the government on moral grounds.
The party’s Politburo meeting held on Sunday decided to withdraw from the government, respecting the people’s mandate expressed through the election.
UML General Secretary Madhav Kumar Nepal on Sunday announced his resignation from the party’s top post and gave the responsibility of acting General Secretary to Amrit Kumar Bohora.
“The election results have shown that we lost our popularity. The people’s mandate is against our expectations and there is no point in staying in the government. Therefore, we have decided to withdraw from the government on moral ground, quoted Bohora as saying. The Madhesi Janadhikar Forum (MJF) has won 14 seats and emerged as a strong force in the Terai region, while the Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party (TMLP) has bagged four seats.
The Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP) has won two seats while the Peoples Front and Rajendra Mahato-led Nepal Sadbhavana Party (NSP) have won one seat each.
An independent candidate, Babban Singh, has won the Rautahat Constituency.
The counting of votes for 240 seats under direct electoral seats is already under progress and counting is also held for 335 seats under proportional representation (PR).
The initial PR counting in Lalitpur-3 constituency shows the Maoists are leading in that as well.
Repolling will be held at Saptari District-1, Sarlahi District -5 and Nawalparasi District on Tuesday, at Mahottari District on Wednesday and at Dailekh District-1, Chitwan District-5, Sarlahi District -6 and Siraha District on Thursday.
The Constituent Assembly polls have been put off at 75 different voting centers in 19 different election constituencies in 12 districts due to irregularities. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |