India win toss, ask Sri Lanka to bat

August 20th, 2008 - 11:40 am ICT by IANS  

Dambulla, Aug 20 (IANS) Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field in the second One-Day International against Sri Lanka here at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium Wednesday. The Indians, who suffered a severe blow when Virender Sehwag had to pull out of the series with an ankle injury ahead of the first ODI, had more bad news when opener Gautam Gambhir was ruled out with a stiff neck.

Tamil Nadu captain S. Badrinath will make his debut in place of Gambhir. The Indians also dropped left arm spinner Praghyan Ojha and brought in seamer Praveen Kumar.

The Sri Lankans had to rest Chaminda Vaas, who had pulled his right hamstring. He was the only change from their line up that won the first ODI by eight wickets and was replaced by Dilhara Fernando.


Sri Lanka:
Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilina Tushara Mirando and Nuwan Kulasekara.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), S. Badrinath, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Gamini Silva (SL)
Third Umpire: T.H. Wijewardene (SL)
Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |