EC issues notification for third phase of Karnataka polls

April 26th, 2008 - 1:20 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, Apr 26 (ANI): The Election Commission today issued a notification for the third and last phase of the Karnataka Assembly polls, which is scheduled to be held on May 22.
A total of 69 Assembly constituencies in eight districts of North Karnataka, Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Bidar, Gulbaga, Bijapur, Bagalakot and Belgaum will face the ballot in this phase.
The last date for the filing nominations is May 3. The scrutiny will take place on May 5. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is May 7.
The second phase of polling will take place on May 16, when a total of 66 Assembly constituencies in 10 districts of Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chikmagalur and Dakshina Kannada will face the ballot.
The Congress, the BJP and the JD (S) have already announced their candidates for the first phase, scheduled for May 10. As many as 89 Assembly constituencies spread over 11 districts of Tumkur, Chikkaballapur, Kolar, Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Ramanagar, Mandya, Hassan, Kodagu, Mysore and Chamarajnagar will go to polls in the first phase.
The counting of votes in all the 224 constituencies will take place on May 25. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |