Commonwealth to decide Pakistan’s membership on May 12

April 18th, 2008 - 10:23 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Pervez Musharraf

London, April 18 (IANS) Expelled for flouting democratic norms, Pakistan’s case for membership of the Commonwealth will be reviewed at a high-powered meeting in London next month, the Commonwealth said. The Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG), which addresses serious or persistent violations of the Commonwealth’s values and principles, will meet in London May 12 to discuss Pakistan and Fiji.

The CMAG will review the suspension of Pakistan and consider political developments in Fiji.

Pakistan was suspended from the Commonwealth in November last year after President Pervez Musharraf imposed emergency rule. CMAG had agreed to review progress in Pakistan after the conduct of scheduled elections, which took place Feb 18.

Fiji was suspended from the Commonwealth in December 2006 following a military coup.

“The Commonwealth is closely monitoring progress towards elections, which would be required before the suspension can be lifted,” a Commonwealth statement said Thursday.

The CMAG is composed of the foreign ministers of nine Commonwealth countries, which currently are Britain, Ghana, Malaysia, Namibia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, St Lucia, Sri Lanka and Uganda.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |