BCCI announces squad for Sri Lanka Test series

July 8th, 2008 - 4:28 pm ICT by ANI  

Harbhajan Singh

Kolkata, July 8 (ANI): The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has today announced the 16-member squad for the Test series in Sri Lanka.

Leg-spinner Anil Kumble will lead the Indian team, while Virender Sehwag will be his deputy.

The BCCI has rested One Day International (ODI) captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, while Yuvraj Singh and S. Sreesanth have also been left out of the 16-member squad.

Earlier, on Monday Dhoni had pulled out of the series, citing exhaustion due to too much cricket.

Besides Anil Kumble and Virender Sehwag, the 16-member squad for the Test series includes Gautam Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, V.V.S. Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Parthiv Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, Munaf Patel and Pragyan Ojha.

India’’s first Test against Sri Lanka begins on July 23 in Colombo. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in South Asia |