Young faces set to join Manmohan Singh ministry

April 6th, 2008 - 2:50 pm ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Manmohan Singh

New Delhi, April 6 (IANS) Some young MPs are set to join Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s ministry Sunday evening, and even the cabinet may see new faces, official sources said. Jyotiraditya Scindia, Sachin Pilot, Jitin Prasad, Rajesh Mishra (all Congress) and Kanimozhi, a DMK MP in the Rajya Sabha and daughter of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi, are likely to become ministers of state.

V. Narayansamy and Hanumantha Rao, Congress MPs from Puducherry and Andhra Pradesh respectively, and Raghunath Jha of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) may find a place in the cabinet - or become ministers of state with independent charge, the sources said.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi is likely to be shifted from the government to work for the Congress party.

Suresh Pachauri and M.V. Rajshekharan, ministers of state for parliamentary affairs and planning respectively, may also be dropped.

President Pratibha Patil will administer the oath of office and secrecy at a simple ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Manmohan Singh apparently discussed a reshuffle in his ministry when he met her Saturday.

The sources said Manmohan Singh decided to carry out the changes after the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) declared that it had no intention of toppling the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government.

The likely changes assume significance in view of the coming elections in key states like Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rules both states, where the Congress is determined to bounce back to power.

The junior Scindia, son of the late Madhavrao Scindia, represents Gwalior in the Lok Sabha.

Sahin Pilot, who represents Dausa in the Lok Sabha from Rajasthan, is the son of the late Rajesh Pilot, who was a heavyweight.

Jitin Prasad, a Lok Sabha member from Shajahanpur in Uttar Pradesh, is the son of the late Congress veteran Jitendra Prasad.

Dasmunshi and Pachauri are presidents of West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh units of the Congress respectively. Madhya Pradesh goes to the polls this year along with Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

Pachauri and Rajshekharan are members of the Rajya Sabha but were not re-nominated to the upper house.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |