Yoganand Shastri elected Delhi Assembly speaker

December 19th, 2008 - 8:35 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Dec 19 (IANS) The Congress’ Yoganand Shastri was Friday elected speaker of the newly elected 70-member Delhi legislative assembly. Shastri was elected unopposed on the second day of the first session of the new assembly. He had Thursday filed his nomination papers for the post.

He succeeds party colleague and stalwart Prem Singh, who was the Speaker in the previous assembly. Singh won the 2008 poll too and will continue to be a member of the house.

Earlier Thursday, the elected legislators were administered oath of membership.

Shastri was the health minister in the previous Sheila Dikshit cabinet and makes way for Kiran Walia this time.

Dikshit’s council of ministers also includes A.K. Walia, Rajkumar Chauhan, Arvinder Singh Lovely, Mangat Ram Singhal, Haroon Yusuf — all ministers in her previous regime.

The Congress won 43 seats in the assembly, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won two seats and one seat each went to the Lok Janshakti Party and an Independent.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |