Voting in UP polls second phase begins

February 11th, 2012 - 9:01 am ICT by IANS  

Lucknow, Feb 11 (IANS) Voters queued up outside polling booths as the second round of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, involving 1.97 crore voters in 59 constituencies, began Saturday.

Polling began at 7 a.m. in 59 constituencies spread across nine districts — Azamgarh, Gorakhpur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Maharajganj, Deoria, Mau, Sant Kabir Nagar and Kushinagar. It will end at 5 p.m.

A total of 20,426 polling stations and some 20,800 electronic voting machines (EVM) have been set up.

With 1,098 candidates, including 76 women, in the fray, the constituency with maximum number of candidates (31) is Gorakhpur Urban, while Saidpur has the least (10).

The staggered polling began Feb 8, and saw a high 62 percent turnout on the 55 seats in the first phase.

The last phase of the elections will be held on March 3 and the votes counted March 6.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |