Vora, Shivpratap elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

March 19th, 2008 - 9:14 pm ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Bahujan Samaj Party

Raipur, March 19 (IANS) All India Congress Committee (AICC) treasurer Motilal Vora and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominee Shivpratap Singh were Wednesday elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Chhattisgarh. While the Congress repeated Vora, the BJP fielded Shivpratap Singh - a sitting member of the state assembly. A tribal leader from state’s northern Surguja district, Singh was a dissident leader in the ruling party after he was removed from the post of state party president about a year ago.

This will be the second consecutive term for Vora, former chief minister of undivided Madhya Pradesh, in the upper house of parliament.

Both Vora and Singh were elected unopposed Wednesday afternoon though elections are due March 26.

The returning officer for the Rajya Sabha polls and secretary of the Chhattisgarh state assembly Devendra Verma handed over certificates of their election at the state assembly complex.

In the 90-member state assembly, the BJP has 53 members and the Congress has 34. The Nationalist Congress Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party have one seat each.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |