Violence continues in round two of Bengal panchayat polls (Lead)

May 14th, 2008 - 4:22 pm ICT by admin  

Kolkata, May 14 (IANS) Violence continued across five West Bengal districts Wednesday in the second round of the three-phased panchayat polls with clashes between the ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and rival political parties claiming at least four lives and leaving almost a score injured. The districts that are having polls Wednesday are North and South 24 Parganas, Nadia, Howrah and Hooghly.

“There was a clash between Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) supporters at Basanti town in South 24 Parganas. Three RSP supporters - Ram Halder, Madhusudan Halder and Kanak Sarder - were allegedly shot dead by CPI-M,” West Bengal inspector-general (law and order) Raj Kanojia told IANS.

“RSP supporters are alleging that CPI-M cadres have set some of their houses on fire. We are looking into the matter,” he said.

Political clashes started early Wednesday morning in parts of West Bengal.

CPI-M and Trinamul Congress (TMC) supporters threw crude bombs at each other at Panchla area of Howrah in the morning, injuring five.

“The situation is under control at Panchla,” Kanojia said.

Five people were injured Wednesday morning in a clash between supporters of the CPI-M and TMC at Domjur in Howrah.

“One died at Domjur. But the incident was self-inflicted. The man was carrying a crude bomb to use it at the clash. It burst prematurely and killed him,” Kanojia added.

Police sources said there were minor political clashes throughout the day across the five districts.

“Two CPI-M supporters were reported injured in a clash with Congress supporters at Tehatta subdivision in South 24 Parganas Wednesday noon. Besides, four Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) supporters were allegedly beaten up by CPI-M cadres at Nadia,” sources said.

There are over 3,800 polling booths in the five districts.

The panchayat elections in West Bengal are scheduled May 11, 14 and 18. Counting would be taken up May 21.

Five districts - Purulia, West and East Midnapore, Bardhaman and Bankura - had polls May 11.

North Bengal and Murshidabad districts will have polls May 18.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |