Vaghela named in Congress list of 12 for Gujarat

March 9th, 2009 - 8:55 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 9 (IANS) The Congress party Monday announced 12 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections from Gujarat, including the names of Union Minister of Textiles Shankarsinh Vaghela and two union ministers of state.
Vaghela will contest from the Panchmahal constituency.

The ministers of state are Dinsha J. Patel, who will contest from Kheda, and Naranbhai J. Rathwa, who has been given the ticket for Chhota Udaipur constituency.

Madhusudan Mistry, sitting MP from Sabarkantha, would be contesting from the same constituency.

Tushar Amarsinh Chaudhary, sitting MP from Mandvi constituency and the son of former Congress leader Amarsinh Chaudhary, will be contesting from the Bardoli seat.

Kishanbhai Vestabhai Patel, sitting MP from Bulsar, would be Congress candidate from Valsad constituency. Jivabhai Ambalal patel, sitting MP from Mehsana, would be contesting from the same constituency.

In the 1999 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress won six of 26 seats in the state, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 20. In 2004, the Congress won 12 seats while the BJP won 14.

The Lok Sabha polls would be held April 30. Results would be declared May 16.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |